home | things-to-do | geology

Running a vacation home in the remote desert environment of Terlingua, Texas isn’t an easy task, but we are working very hard to offer you a unique vacation opportunity. Following are excerpts from emails and our guest book for our first 10+ years of operation, October 1, 2003 through 2017. Special thanks to the Young’s, our first guests, for providing the guest book.

March 2017
We had a great time at Terlingua House. Nice, clean, and relaxing atmosphere. Plenty of room for multiple families. Really liked the location as it was close to town and an easy drive to Big Bend and to the scenic drive to Presidio. Enjoyed dinner at the Starlight Theater and the pizza at The Long Draw Pizza place was excellent. Highly recommend the hike to The Window in Big Bend
Dana R. - Brazoria, TX

February 2017
We have been going to the Big Bend for several years and have stayed in several places. We love Terlingua House for several reasons. First, the location is perfect for dividing your time between the national park and the state park. The whole house is well taken care of and though it is right off the road you can hardly tell. The kitchen is well appointed for making your own meals and we eat like kings! The bedrooms are well maintained and private with plenty of room to spread out. There is good internet connectivity so you don't have to feel disconnected if you don't want to. I look forward to next year!
GG R. - San Antonio, TX

February 2017
This is our 8th Feb visit here and we consider it our home away from home - we love it!!
Bren M. - San Antonio, TX

January 2017
This was my 2nd time staying at Terlingua House. It is the perfect retreat. You can see bighorn sheep up in the canyon in the morning, hear coyotes, look at stars and be in a comfortable setting where you can cook, do laundry after a day of hiking or adventuring in Big Bend and are 2 minutes drive or a short walk to the ghost town. Thanks so much. We love love love it here.
Scott R. - Austin, TX

January 2017
What an amazing place to stay while visiting Big Bend. Was an amazing setup that added to the adventure. Loved the evening camp fire while watching the stars. Loved the sunrise and sunsets in this amazing venue, the crow's nest (upper deck) was great for drinking a morning coffee to an evening glass of wine. Can't wait to get back to Terlingua House soon!!!
Laura K. - Castroville, TX

August 2016
We stayed for four days in August and had a great time. The house is exactly as described and has lots of room - for us four it was hard to decide where to sleep first :-) The little town of Terlingua has much more to offer than we first expected - no need to bring a lot of supplies unless you want to save money: the local grocery store is of course a bit more expensive than a big city supermarket.
Andrea S - Alexandria, VA

August 2016
Terlingua House was a great “home base” while we did hiking in the Big Bend area! It was great to come back to a hot shower and air-conditioning each night. We loved it here!
Polly & Brett- Vermont/Connecticut

July 2016
Thank you for a great stay in the Big Bend! Great space here at the Terlingua House!! Everything we needed was here and clean! Very orderly! We will be back!!
Tommy, Cat, Sadie, and Ella - Austin, TX

July 2016
It was a great base for exploring, boys ended up sleeping in kitchen (Wi-Fi) They thought that was better than having their own building. We explored the lost mine trail and out to the canyon. Swam the Rio Grande and also walked the riverbed outside the house. Fire pit was a definite bonus! Thanks so much, will recommend to anyone who mentions a Big Bend trip.
Andy, Rosa, Brian, Eddie, and Bear - Manor, TX

July 2016
We all had a wonderful time!!! Great accommodations all around. Very comfortable and everything worked as promised. We will do this again!
The Cudes - San Antonio, TX

June 2016
3 kids 3 adults exploring Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch- Amazing Skies-Perfect Location! Enjoyed the goats on the high mountain and the resident tarantula each night. Thank you for sharing this beautiful place! ALSO, thank you for the great beds, awesome views, and most of all the WONDERFUL memories with my family!!
Granley and Grammie - League City, TX

June 2016
We stayed for 4 nights in early June and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful, all of the beds are very comfortable and the a/c worked great! The views from the house are amazing, sunrise and sunsets as well as a breathtaking view of the night sky! The house was clean, comfortable and perfect for our family. We traveled with 3 kids, grandma, myself and hubby. The location is perfect to hike Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park.
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.
Jennifer G - League City, TX

May 2016
Two years ago, in late January, we stayed at Terlingua House to celebrate my 50th birthday. We fell in love with Terlingua House and its rustic charm. We still dream about going back to visit! Terlingua House is perfectly situated for day trips to Terlingua, the Ghost Town, Big Bend National Park, Big Bend State Park, and Lajitas. The sunrises at Terlingua House are amazing to behold. To sit with a warm cup of coffee and enjoy the beauty of nature in the morning is unforgettable. Then, to close out the day with an amazing sunset is the icing on the cake. My son and husband climbed the cliff behind the house to check out the caves. They loved it! Terlingua House is not like being at home. It's truly an adventure! We loved the little keys hanging in the kitchen to access each of the bedrooms, the roof top deck, and the delicious artisan pizza place with live music right next door. The little lounging area in the kitchen was perfect for the kids while we prepared meals and the bedrooms were spread out enough we didn't feel like we were on top of one another while there. Everyone had space to roam and play and explore. We enjoyed evenings by the fire pit, too. Dreaming of coming back and cannot wait!
LW - Van Alstyne, TX

May 2016
This is the perfect spot to be close to Big Bend National Park. Nice area to explore. The house is well stocked for all you need to make for a comfortable stay.
RF - Santa Fe, TX

April 2016
Wonderful location home for family , enjoyed, thank you.
Mr & Mrs RV - Waelder, TX

April 2016
Nelson's 70th birthday, Alex & Andrea's 40th, Chris' 43rd., Connecticut, Colorado, Massachusetts, Alaska All sweating together in Texas "Bravo".

April 2016
......It was worth the wait. Had a great time and the accommodations were wonderful.
BB & T&T - Houston, TX

March 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Good location. Beautiful country and great memories. Especially enjoyed the fire pit and patio after our days of exploring.
G&R Families - Frisco & Austin, TX

February 2016
We enjoyed a great stay and wonderful time at Terlingua House.
?? - Smithson Valley, Ft Worth, Marshall, TX and Phoenix Arizona

February 2016
Had a great time! Love the sunrises in the morning! Will return again.
BF - Monahans, TX

February 2016
We stayed 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it! It was very relaxing. The sunrises were breath taking and the nights were awesome....very dark but plenty of stars in the sky. We ziplined, golfed in nearby Lajitas and had an awesome time! We didn't go into Big Bend this time but plan to on our next trip! Too bad the next available date for this house is in late June. The house is big enough to accommodate all our family even thought this time around only 4 of us stayed due to unforeseen circumstances! Terlingua House is in the perfect location ....we are panning our return trip soon! Love the scenery an the local people. We will be back!

Oneida B - Monahans, TX

January 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Great beds! We will come again.
J&D - Leakey, TX

January 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Great beds! We will come again.
J&D - Leakey, TX

December 2015
We can't say enough about what an awesome place this is!!! It is extremely functional with two sets of washers/dryers for guests to use...but, they also throw in the detergent, bleach and fabric softener to go with the laundry!! The way the guest units are arranged allows for a comfortable stay for a couple, two couples, a Party or a Reunion....Patio area, star gazing area for telescope/binoculars and a great fire pit for socializing or cooking wieners and marshmallows. Lastly, plenty of linens, blankets and an awesomely stocked kitchen....also, two BBQ pits for cooking out on patio/deck area...We soooo enjoyed our stay...didn't want to leave. This will definitely be a do-over!! Love, love, love this place!
WW - Weatherford, TX

December 2015
We had a lovely time and had no problems at all with the house. We did especially enjoy the new dishwasher. Making reservations for next year now!!
MB - Round Rock, TX

January 2015
We have had such a lovely stay here at Terlingua House. Thank you for all the work to make this a lovely place to land and explore from. It is such a special spot. We would like to go ahead and book the same weekend next year.
TM - Austin, TX

November 2014
We had a great time and will definitely be back. My Aunt and Uncle recommended Terlingua House to us and we will definitely recommend the property to others.
JE - Trophy Club, TX

November 2014
It was a memorable weekend. We loved it. I found your house in a travel section somewhere and we looked it up the reserved the following Thanksgiving the same day. Many people have expressed interest when they heard how much we enjoyed it.
BJ - Houston, TX

November 2014
We loved the Terlingua House. The setting was wonderful, the individual rooms were great as it allowed my husband and I some privacy. I have already recommended you to a few friends.
VN - Houston, TX

October 2014
When we decided to meet with friends and go to Big Bend National Park, I searched on the internet for lodging near Big Bend. I wanted something with kitchen facilities and multiple bedrooms close to the park. When we came across the Terlingua House site, I thought it would be perfect for us, and the other couple agreed. I made the deposit and reservation, and the rest is history. We really enjoyed our stay at Terlingua House; the eclectic styling and furnishings, as well as the setting, made for an enjoyable experience. I would definitely recommend Terlingua House for people who would like to have a unique experience while vacationing in West Texas.
DA - Silverdale, WA

October 2014
We liked your place very much and we had a wonderful time. We keep on telling our friends about the good time we had.
SK - Sugarland, TX

June 2014
Stay was great, property was completely "West Texas", convenient to Big Bend and Terlingua Ghost Town. Will definitely recommend and use again if in the area!

June 2014
The house was perfect! Everything worked great and the property is amazing.

May 2014
We found you online when searching for places to stay near Big Bend. We had a wonderful stay, the kitchen was very well stocked. We would definitley recommend your place, and already have. We wished there were more places to sit in the area with the large TV when we watched a movie one evening.
Thanks so much.
L.R.

May 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. In addition to spending time in the park, we made side trips to the Observatory and Fort Davis. We have stayed at Terlingua House in the past and have always enjoyed our stays. Also, have recommended Terlingua House to many, many people including a recent inclusion in a blog to a group of Delta Airlines retirees. No recommendations for improvement at all. You guys just keep making it better!!

March 2014
Our family just enjoyed spending another wonderful spring break at Terlingua House - this was our third stay visiting since 2006. I think this property and a visit to Terlingua and Big Bend country is all about expectations... we camped outside the park the first couple of times we visited this area and while rustic and down to earth - we wanted more comfort.

After our first stay at Terlingua House, we felt as if we were Brewster County royalty. It's private and quiet (when cars aren't passing along the highway below). It's ideal if traveling with a couple of families or extended family as there are three separate sleeping areas with a semi-connecting bath (2 baths total). The drive to BBNP is a breeze, the ghost town is just a couple of miles down the road and Lajitas is a short drive west.

The owner has acknowledged that there are some areas for improvement and they are being implemented but, in our opinion, any minor inconveniences are far outweighed by the many pluses this property has to offer... walk up the slope and take in the sunrise over the Chisos, have a beverage on the deck above the patio at the end of the day, make a small camp fire in the rock ringed fire pit next to the studio.

We really treasure Terlingua House for its simplicity and enduring desert charm. Thanks also to the house manager, John, who stopped by a couple of times during our visit to help us with some minor incidentals. Christmas wish... a light over the sink in the kitchen.

February 2014
This was our fifth – at least? – year there and as always it was an absolute delight! We appreciate how it is clear every year we go back that efforts have been made to maintain and upgrade the property. We LOVE it there and wish we could come more!

November 2013
Terlingua house was a great place to host our family Thanksgiving! The house is in a great location just South of Terlingua Ghost town and North of Lajitas. This provides great access to Big Bend State Park and the beautiful drive along the Rio Grande and 2 minutes from Ghost town and 20 min from the entrance to the National Park. The three separate bedrooms had plenty of cozy furnishings and room for all. The kitchen was a comfortable gathering place for dinner and Thanksgiving dinner. The fire pit offered a fun outdoor gathering area. The property managers also provided great service. I would highly recommend for a family getaway.

June 2013
I live in the suburbs and commute to work in a large city with horrible traffic (Hint, hint....Austin, Texas). I was so looking forward to peace, solitude and the beauty of Big Bend. My family and I got that and then some. Since returning, I've spent a lot of my free time thinking about when I can get back. If you can appreciate the beauty of Big Bend and you're looking for solitude with all the comforts of home, this is the place for you.

January 2011
I and my family reserved the Terlingua House....... We plan on reserving a year from now........I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed it, and how much we look forward to staying there again. Thanks....
JK

December 2010
What a great return to Big Bend area and Terlingua House! We repeated a few favorite items and tried some new ones, Grapevine Hills was the favorite.

December 2010
We absolutely loved it here! We’ll be back for sure!! We’ve been to Big Bend 10+ times………This is our Heaven!............Thanks for becoming a new part of our Big Bend Adventure!!

October 2010
Four adults, three kids stayed here for 4-5 days. It was wonderful. We love the layout of the property.

September 2010
Most of all we would like to say thank you to the keepers of Terlingua House. You have made it possible to bring hearts and souls to the desert and kindle a oneness with the beauty that surrounds as far as the eye can see. An experience that will last a life time!

January 2010
The house was very comfortable ……….We appreciate how well equipped the house is.

October 2009
This was a perfect place to stay for 3 couples who have known each other for over 30 years! Everyday brought new adventures in the park, rivers and hiking trails. Our goodbye gift was the most beautiful sunrise over the purple Chisos Mountains. Hopefully we will return to this friendly comfortable adobe.

August 2009
Love the house, it was perfect for getting ready for a wedding.

August 2009
Terlingua House Rules!

July 2009
The home exceeded our expectations! We truly enjoyed the landscape and wildlife.

May 2009
We thoroughly enjoyed Terlingua House. The unique way it is set up was enjoyable.

April 2009
I’ve spent a great deal of time in this area over the years but this was by far the best, and most memorable trip of them all. We came out here to bring my dad, who we love so much, home for good. He loved it out here and this is where he wanted to be. He will forever live in this desert and we will be back to visit him. Then, now, and forever he will always live through us, and through this desert his legacy will never be forgotten nor will this place that we have called home for these few days. It has all been truly inspirational and blessed and we will all never forget this house.

April 2009
The layout of the house was perfect and so much nicer than a motel or hotel

April 2009
Just got here from England with Mom and Dad. Me, Joel and Sophie, went mental. Chose our rooms, I got a double bed all to me! Can’t wait for tomorrow.

March 2009
6 guys had a great time for a bachelor party. Everything was amazing. Sorry for the stench, it must be the water…………..

January 2009
Had a great time! The stars are awesome! The park is beautiful! Staying here was a real joy!!

October 2008
Would definitely recommend this place to others and return myself

October 2008
These Angels of Grace have helped to “lead” me home, spiritually and emotionally during this brief time as we made our home at Terlingua House.

August 2008
This is our second trip to Big Bend. Terlingua House made all the difference and much more pleasant stay than our last trip.

August 2008
Thank you so much for sharing your house, this has been our best family vacation ever.

July 2008
Love the house.

July 2008
The house was perfect for our family

May 2008
What a great house. You have put together one of the best Texas experiences there is. Well Done! - General Maxwell Stearns

April 2008
If one opens a sufficient number of mussels one just may find a pearl. Well, we found our pearl in Terlingua House.  Just awesome!

April 2008
The style and sophistication of these accommodations are a delightful surprise. It was perfectly scaled for our three couples and thoroughly enjoyed. We will happily recommend Terlingua House to any group headed out this way. Beautiful sunrises and evening stars.

April 2008
Lovely place, delightful space.

March 2008
This place is amazing, the stars are incredible. I will come back someday.

March 2008
We had a wonderful stay we found the accommodations, clean, roomy, and very convenient to Big Bend.

February 2008
We loved the House! Two of us just wanted to move right in. Comfortable, clean, fully supplied, beautiful. Thanks!

December 2007
Enjoyed our brief stay in your unique vacation home.

December 2007
Terlingua House holds lots of special memories of our first family vacation. Thank you!

October 2007
We brought our family with us and the Terlingua House was a perfect fit! A fun design and well stocked. Everything made our time here most memorable. Spacious rooms were a nice treat too. Beautiful night skies, gorgeous sunrises. Everything exceeded our expectations. Thanks for a great setting, we will be back.

October 2007
Just Married! We have arrived in style, as always, this evening to find our perfect getaway. I know memories will be made here, the place seems to exude it. We have plans to relax under the pretense of unavailability which seems most possible here.

September 2007
We drove in after dark, so you can imagine our amazement at the view when we woke up the next morning! This was our first trip to Big Bend and we love it! The Terlingua House has been wonderful and conveniently located between all activities we have done. Far Flung Outdoor Center are amazing and hospitable tour guides. Our ATV and river trips were awesome and educational too! We have had such a great time and can’t wait to bring our families back. Terlingua House and Big bend have FAR exceeded our expectations! Thanks so much!

September 2007
The moon was so bright I needed no light to roam outside for star and moon photos. Saturn was brilliant in the East. ………………Missed sunrise, the bed was so comfortable.

July 2007
Terlingua House perfect location for exploring all the parks round about.

July 2007
Terlingua House was an excellent base camp for all our adventures. Viva Terlingua!

July 2007
Terlingua House provided us with all the comforts of “home away from home”.

June 2007
WOW! What a beautiful and peaceful place. Had a great time.

May 2007
We couldn’t believe what an awesome place the Terlingua House is. Beautiful views all around. We will be back again. What a great time we had, don’t want to leave.

April 2007
What a find! Perfect for two families. Convenient well arranged and very well equipped.

March 2007
It was a blessing to be a guest and feel at home here at Terlingua House. Our stay has rejuvenated our hearts, minds and souls. We know there will be many future visits to this wonderful country environment. Until then take care our beloved Terlingua House.

April 2006
An oasis of shade,
A well of rest,
Like it sprang,
From the desert itself.

April 2006
A very magical place, the shooting stars, peregrine falcons, the colors changing on the Chisos.

December 2005
We had a fabulous Christmas at Terlingua House. We spotted the following birds on the property: Rock Wren, Cactus Wren, Scaled Quail, Black Throated Sparrow, White Crowned Sparrow, Pyrrhuloxia Cardinal, Golden Fronted Woodpecker, Ladder Backed Woodpecker, House Finch, Ruby Crowned Kinglet and the Common Raven.

March 2004
The area has much to capture our interest: the wildlife, geology and flora – often we would prefer to just stand and stare. We did some of the main features – the basin, the window trail and Santa Elena Canyon …. We recommend them all. However, at the end of each day - sometimes earlier, we were delighted to return “home” to Terlingua House for a nice cup of tea on the balcony at sunset, dinner, a game of scrabble and a comfortable night’s sleep. A truly relaxing, delightful place to stay.

JC – Surray, England

March 2004
Our Book Club had an absolutely great time here! We have traveled together many places during the past 10 years and this is the best place we have ever stayed! The rooms are so beautiful and had everything we needed. It was such a pleasure to sit on the (deck) and enjoy the view. We are hoping to come back with our families some day.

The Dallas Book Club – Dallas, Texas

March 2004
We had a great time here and appreciated the clean, well stocked accommodations….We look forward to our next return. Thanks to the Johnson’s we have had a wonderful adventure. My son (who is 10) wanted to stay longer. The National Park is a must-see. We did have some rain that caused a waterfall in the park that has not been seen in 25 years.

DD - Lumberton, Texas

March 2004
Had a fine time. Covered lots of territory. Rode, hiked, ate, played cards, slept well, and everybody got along, too. A place to come back to. Probably will. The book “Rocks, River, and Thorn: The Big Bend of the Rio Grande” has been given to Terlingua House by its author/photographer Frank Armstrong.

FA and Guests - New York, Massachusetts, Texas

March 2004
We had a tremendously wonderful week here. The scenery, the town, the people were all wonderful.

SN – Long Beach, Mississippi

February 2004
I just wanted to drop you a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at Terlingua House. Everything was great, not one disappointment. The country was awesome, the jeep rental great and even the weather was superb.

D& K J - Oklahoma

February 2004
Terlingua House is absolutely fabulous. You have thought of everything. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and everything looks like it belongs in this setting. The National Park and the Chisos Mountains are wonderful. The drive between Terlingua House and Presidio is breathtaking and worth the time spent. We enjoyed our stay. We’ll be back.

MM – Abilene, Texas

February 2004
Magnificent country! Stunning scenery! One of the most unusual places we have ever been to …. We were lucky with the weather, accommodations were outstanding. Overall- great memories!

DJ – Tulsa, Oklahoma

January 2004
This is a great place to listen, read, and feel God’s presence … Stars are very bright and weather was without rain and wildlife abundant. We enjoyed our stay and will try to return again (soon).

JB – Lincoln, Nebraska

December 2003
What a great find! We were especially pleased with the peacefulness of the desert and the sunset from the back room … the park was fabulous and we slept well – warm and snug. Terlingua House reminds me of a micro-Austin in the 70’s it’s a real scene! . . . We hope to be back and will spread the word about your place.

CW – Austin, Texas

November 2003
Your home has everything a person could want. We look forward to coming back in the spring ….

CF – New Braunfels, Texas

November 2003
We took advantage of Veterans Day and brought our 7 and 9 year old boys for an adventure. It has been 10 years since we were here last . . . . Terlingua House is the best of both worlds. Outdoor beauty … coyote howls, and peaceful sleep, showers, and kitchen with all the amenities. We were surprised at how well supplied the house was.

SM – Austin, Texas

October 2003
A great time was had by all, grandparent to kids, even the weather was great! The house was very comfortable with a lot of thoughtful touches. We loved making coffee in our own rooms. You all have a nice vacation spot. We hope to visit again.

JY – Dallas, Texas

Availability Calendar

 

home | things-to-do | geology